Skip to content

When Johnny Comes Crawling Home – The Finish

September 7, 2011

I want to thank everybody who gave me helpful pointers on my Facebook page when I was stumped and pissed off by all this CMYK nonsense, you all were extremely helpful and came through like gangbusters. Anyway here’s the finished piece, subdued with a bit of color correction it’s called When Johnny Comes Crawling Home and it should be in the next volume of ZombieBomb. Anyway off to sleep and then tomorrow I get to start a new project theres two to choose from so could be some interesting things happening, both are a bit outside what you’ve seen me do but not outside my comfort zone.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 8:50 pm

    Awesome work, buddy! Love the washed out look.

    • September 8, 2011 9:57 am

      thanks I’m glad you like it I am pretty happy with the piece, I was going for a low key more retro look and i think it worked out for the most part. I didn’t upload a very hi resolution image but on the print version there are some halftone patterns in there and a slightly offset 10% black line art layer to try to mimic that old off register print quality.

      • September 9, 2011 10:59 am

        Nice one. I admire the discipline. By that I mean succeeding in keeping this muted, earthy colour theme. I realize we’re talking from different levels of expertise but I always find it difficult to refrain from going crazy with some high contrasts and saturated splashes of colour. It is just so tempting once your piece is finalized and ready for anything.

        I wonder if you get tempted, too;)

        I guess is helps to have your goal set up in advance.

      • September 9, 2011 12:34 pm

        Well I’ll be honest I’m not as proficient with color as I would like to be and I have a terrible problem using oversaturated colors normally but I’ve been working at a magazine for the past few months and learning a thing or two about ink limits and how CMYK color processing works and trying to fill in the gaps that I don’t understand about printing concerns so that I can try to apply them to my personal projects. I also went and had the piece printed out when I thought i was done to see how it translated from my screen to the printed page and it was very dark so that’s one reason why I took a lot of the color back out of the piece. I’d be surprised if it doesn’t print a bit darker than we are seeing it on screen.

Leave a Reply

