Skip to content

Magic Bullet #2

March 1, 2011

So Rafer Roberts of Plastic Farm contacted me acting on behalf of The DC Conspiracy to do a one page comic piece for the second volume of D.C.’s favorite comic newspaper The Magic Bullet, check it out here The Magic Bullet. I did this little thing here and for real, this was honestly the first time I ever did one of my own story ideas start to finish. I’m going to chalk it up to the fact that I haven’t been doing comics all that long and in my previous experiences a writer had what was needed already fleshed out or I was collaborating with somebody and we were throwing ideas and layouts back and forth. Of course the concept for this one pager only came to me at like 3 AM Friday night after beating my head against the wall with three false starts and a failed finish in the 2 previous days with the deadline being Sunday the 27th. So being a nostalgic soul and wanting to keep up the tradition that I had started with all my other previous comic experiences, I haven’t slept for more than what most would consider a nap in like 3 or 4 days. Alright enough ranting here is one version of the page I finished, it’s the usual photoshop gray scale work . The other version will appear in The Magic Bullet #2 and it was done as a zip-a-tone styled piece for that pulp newsprint look.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 12:41 pm

    I love it! Absolutely laugh-out-loud funny and the artwork is great. I love the style! Keep up the great work! I’ll help promote you on Facebook!

    • March 1, 2011 7:22 pm

      Hey thanks a lot! I had a blast doing this one for the fun of it and I really appreciate the support.

  2. Vincent Becker permalink
    March 1, 2011 10:25 pm

    Nice job Steve! This is awesome!

Leave a Reply

